

The Helen McGregor Award 2019



In recognition of volunteers serving on a Management Committee/Board of a Scottish Social Employer





Helen McGregor

Helen McGregor was a founding member of Shettleston Housing Association and EVH. Helen won the fore runner of this award in 2000. When she won the award she said:

"When I received my MBE I felt a tremendous sense of achievement on behalf of the people of Shettleston and for the housing association movement generally. I would have to be sincere in saying that the Award from EVH has surpassed how I felt about my MBE. This in no way is meant to diminish the MBE but rather to show my regard for the credibility and prestige which is attached to the Committee Member Award. I also know from personal experience just how much esteem is attached to the award within our movement. I can summarise my feelings with regard to my own Association and the housing association movement by saying that there is much to be proud of and much to celebrate."

Who Can Win the Award?

This year the award is sponsored by **Rutherglen and Cambuslang Housing Association** and is open to all management committee members in Scotland, excluding current serving members of the EVH Executive Committee. Individuals who have made a positive contribution in the last 36 months (at the time of nomination) as a volunteer to a social employer, and currently serve on a Management Committee or Board are eligible for nomination.

This year's winner will receive a cash prize of £500 and an engraved trophy at EVH's Annual Conference which will be held at the Fairmont Hotel, St Andrews on Friday 22 November 2019.

Shortlisting

The judging panel will look be looking for the nominee's involvement in a community project/ specific piece of work for their organisation that they were involved in, in the 36 months prior to the nomination being made.

All nominees will be notified of the outcome of their nomination by 13 September 2019. Shortlisted applicants will be invited to meet with the panel in late September/early October 2019 at EVH's before a final decision is reached.

2018 Winner

Geraldine Baird MBE Rutherglen & Cambuslang Housing Association

The panel were delighted to recognise Geraldine for her tireless work involving the implementation of a hearing aid clinic in her local community. Geraldine's introduction and continued involvement with a hearing aid maintenance scheme has not only benefitted tenants of the association but also the wider Rutherglen and Cambuslang Communities as a whole.

2019 Sponsors



The Association first met as the Rutherglen Housing Action Group in 1979. The group was concerned with the deterioration of the housing in the centre of Rutherglen and the lack of any concerted effort to prevent this. The Group was registered as Rutherglen Housing Association in 1980 and then set about the task of improving the 641 properties that had been identified as being below the tolerable standard.

Since that time, the Association's activities have also extended to improving and managing stock in Cambuslang and in 1996 it changed its name to Rutherglen and Cambuslang Housing Association. The association has invested almost £65 million improving and building homes within our community in the last 39 years.

The Association now rents almost 850 properties in the Rutherglen and Cambuslang area and provides a factoring and ground maintenance service for over 900 owners. The Association continues to be managed by a voluntary, unpaid, management committee made up of local people some of whom are tenants. It employs 18 staff to deal with the day to day running of the organisation.

Geraldine Baird MBE with Andrew Robertson



Previous Award Winners

2018 (Geraldine Baird MBE–	-Rutherglen &	Cambuslang HA
--------	----------------------	---------------	---------------

2017	Elspeth Millen-	—Elderpark	Housing A	ssociation
------	-----------------	------------	-----------	------------

2016 Barry Jarvis—Osprey Housing, Moray

2015 Patryk Topolski— Garrion People's Housing Co-Op

2014 Ron Richards—Cunninghame Housing Association

2013 Liz Ruine - Cube Housing Association

2012 John Gray—Queens Cross Housing Association

2011 j', Tenants—First Housing Co-operative

2010 Josie Smith—Glen Housing Association

2009 Jean Black—Pineview Housing Association

2008 Sandra Forsythe MBE—Glasgow Housing Association

2007 Martin Van Der Lee—Tenants First Housing Partnership

2006 George Murray—Dumfries & Galloway Housing Partnership

2005 David Cowan—North Glasgow Housing Association

2004 Anne Stuart, Cassiltoun Housing Association

2003 Robert Wright, Cadder Housing Association

2002 Peter Howden, Calvay Housing Co-operative

2001 John Hearns, Clydebank Housing Association

2000 Helen MeGregor MBE, Shettleston Housing Association

1999 John Jones, Ferguslie Park Housing Association

1998 Alison McFeat MBE, Abertay Housing Association

1997 Pat McGinley MBE, Glen Oaks Housing Association



Nomination Guidelines

Nominations can be made by a fellow committee member, staff member or tenant, **self nominations** are not acceptable. This year the judging criteria for the award will focus on a wide range of achievements which have been made, specifically, within the last 36 months at the time of nomination. A wide range of achievements will be considered, possibly including for example; new and improved services, regeneration, better deals for tenants or new housing schemes. We are looking for evidence of how nominees have made and continue to make a positive difference.

You may find the following tips useful:

- Clearly describe the nominee's contribution to any individual or joint projects in the last 36 months;
- Keep the description of the project to a minimum the panel will be more interested in the nominee's contribution to the project than the project itself;
- Avoid irrelevant details—past experience shows that some applications include a lot of padding that make the nominee's achievements difficult to assess;
- Give as much personal information about the nominee as is possible and relevant;
- Being on a management committee means being a team player and we also need those who can be ambassadors, add value and recognise links and opportunities.

Return of Nomination Forms

Please return your completed nomination forms to Susie Anderson:

Email: Susie@evh.org.uk

Post: EVH, 5th Floor, 137 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3EW

PLEASE RETURN NO LATER THAN FRIDAY 30 AUGUST 2019





