

The Helen McGregor Award 2016

In recognition of volunteers serving on a Management Committee/Board of a Scottish Social Employer.

The Helen McGregor Award Sponsored by:



and



Helen McGregor

Helen McGregor was a founding member of Shettleston Housing Association and EVH. Helen won the fore runner of this award in 2000. When she won the award she said:

"When I received my MBE I felt a tremendous sense of achievement on behalf of the people of Shettleston and for the housing association movement generally. I would have to be sincere in saying that the Award from EVH has surpassed how I felt about my MBE. This in no way is meant to diminish the MBE but rather to show my regard for the credibility and prestige which is attached to the Committee Member Award. I also know from personal experience just how much esteem is attached to the award within our movement. I can summarise my feelings with regard to my own Association and the housing association movement by saying that there is much to be proud of and much to celebrate."

Although, sadly Helen is no longer with us EVH have named the award in recognition of her inspiration and our wish to give real recognition to the very important role that people like Helen play as a Committee Member and their outstanding contribution to their communities.

Who can win the Award?

This year the award is sponsored by Cunninghame Housing Association, and is open to all management committee members in Scotland, excluding current serving members of the EVH Executive Committee. Individuals who have made a positive contribution as a volunteer to a social employer, and currently serve on a Management Committee or Board are eligible for nomination.

This year's winner will receive a cash prize of £500 and an engraved trophy at EVH's Annual Conference at The Fairmont Hotel, St Andrews, Friday 28 October 2016. Each finalist will also receive a commemorative trophy.

Nominations

Nominations can be made by a fellow committee member, staff member or tenant, self nominations are not acceptable. This year the judging criteria for the award will focus on a wide range of achievements which have been made, specifically, within the last 36 months, at the time of nomination. A wide range of achievements will be considered, possibly including for example; new and improved services, regeneration, better deals for tenants or new housing schemes. We are looking for evidence of how nominees have made and continue to make a positive difference.

You may find the following tips useful:

- i Clearly describe the nominee's contribution to any individual or joint projects in the last 36 months;
- i Keep the description of the project to a minimum the panel will be more interested in the nominee's contribution to the project than the project itself;
- i Avoid irrelevant details—past experience shows that some applications include a lot of padding that make the nominee's achievements difficult to assess;
- i Give as much personal information about the nominee as is possible and relevant;
- i Being on a management committee means being a team player and we also need those who can be ambassadors, add value and recognise links and opportunities.
- N.B Maximum submission size is 2 pages, please.

How to Apply - it's easy!

To apply, please complete the nomination form and return it to EVH no later than 12 noon on Friday 24 June 2016, either by e-mail to Diane@evh.org.uk or by post to EVH.

Shortlisting

All nominees will be notified of the outcome of their nomination by 19 August 2016. Shortlisted applicants will be invited to meet with the panel on Friday 9 September 2016 before a final decision is reached.

Announcement of the winner's and finalists' details will be made at EVH's Annual Conference at The Fairmont Hotel, St Andrews, on Friday 28 October 2016. After last year's roaring success, our celebrity presenter this year, for a second year, will be Cat Harvey, formerly from Real Radio/Heart FM.

Sponsors

A big thank you is extended to Cunninghame Housing Association who are sponsoring the award for a second year, and to Garrion's People Housing Co-operative for sponsoring prizes.





Last Year's Winner

The winner of last year saward was Patryk Topolski from Garrion People Housing Co-operative



Patryk receiving his award from Cat Harvey.

Previous Award Winners

1		
	2015	Patryk Topolski, Garrion's People Housing Co-operative
ı	2014	Ron Richards, Cunninghame Housing Association
ľ	2013	Liz Ruine, Cube Housing Association
		John Gray, Queens Cross Housing Association
	2011	j', Tenants First Housing Co-operative
	2010	Josie Smith, Glen Housing Association
	2009	Jean Black, Pineview Housing Association
	2008	Sandra Forsythe MBE, Glasgow Housing Association
	2007	Martin Van Der Lee, Tenants First Housing Partnership
ı	2006	George Murray, Dumfries & Galloway Housing Partnership
	2005	, 9 9
	2004	Anne Stuart, Cassiltoun Housing Association
	2003	Robert Wright, Cadder Housing Association
	2002	Peter Howden, Calvay Housing Co-operative
	2001	John Hearns, Clydebank Housing Association
	2000	Helen MeGregor MBE, Shettleston Housing Association
I	1999	John Jones, Ferguslie Park Housing Association
j	1998	Alison McFeat MBE, Abertay Housing Association
,	1997	Pat McGinley MBE, Glen Oaks Housing Association
I	l	

Return of Nomination Forms

Please return your completed nomination forms to Diane Waugh:

At Email: Diane@evh.org.uk or by post to EVH, 5th Floor, 137 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3EW.

NO LATER THAN FRIDAY 24 JUNE 2016 AT 12 NOON.

Email: Diane@evh.org.uk Tel: 0141 352 7445 Fax: 0141 352 7449

It would be really appreciated if you could please notify Diane Waugh now or asap of your intention to submit a nomination.









